Burger King Receives Your Anger

I was having a gentle day.No, the brand hasn’t sparked outrage with a more risqué version of its Spongebob/Sir Mix-A-Lot dance, but it does have a new menu item hitting the Canadian market. The Angry Whopper is proclaimed to be the spiciest addition (check video after the jump) to the BK menu featuring jalapeño slices, pepper jack cheese, spicy onion rings, and a spicy “Angry Sauce.” In the spirit of the item’s launch ad agency, TAXI 2, has created a microsite where users can see the level of their anger when they vent into the ANGRRROMETER. With access to your computer’s webcam and microphone, the site utilizes facial recognition and voice software to rank your anger appropriately. I tested it out and as you can see from above I’m obviously too laid back for this site.

You have to love the little touches they added, like spraying rainbows and butterflies across my face to indicate the weakness of my anger. It’s an entertaining microsite and is a great example of interactive. Most importantly, it translated the big idea in an engaging way that can be shared with my friends.

Of course, my one complaint regarding all spicy fast food advertising is that it’s never as spicy as the commercial suggests. Not even close. I’ve had the Angry Whopper, it’s probably a 3 out of 10 in terms of heat. It’s the same deal with Taco Bell or Wendy’s. Of course, that’s not to say it wasn’t a tasty burger. It’s just that when I see someone pouring ice down their throat after screaming “HOT! HOT!” I expect a little more kick. Now that’s something for me to be angry about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marketing/Advertising

Leave a Reply

